Accolades to My Alpha North Brothers Regarding a Vietnam Anniversary Date!

On April 18, 1966 I served as the Alpha North forward observer with Alpha company, 1st battalion, 3rd Marines. My friend and radioman, Glen Richmond, called us all together where 2nd platoons CP group, Glen and Ken Stoddard listened to the attack on Alpha North by VC bolstered by NVA. Here is my thoughts about that event on April 18, 2015.

One of 3 major anniversaries for me. The other 2 may be more traumatic because having moved from 12th Marine HQ to FO at A-1-3 for Alpha North, except for Glen Richmond and Ken Stoddard, I was not at the Battery, and didn’t know any of you!

  •  Listening to the events via radio, watching the effect on Glen and Kenny, and living inside my own vivid imagination I feared, cried and prayed along with each of you!
  •  My prayers for Arnie, Danny, Fred, Ralph and Jake continue to this day! My amazement at the wonderful job all of you did in defending Alpha North is part of what makes me proud to have served with such magnificent Marines-where even the “cannon corker” is an expert rifleman! April 18, 1966 is forever part of my eternal memory: when we were Marines, and young!

    Al Battista's photo.
  • Bonnie Arnold Gallegos 4:00pm Apr 17
    Thanks for sharing your memories, guys. Love you all. In the Central Time Zone, there was 13 hours difference (they are ahead of us) since we had not yet started Daylight Savings time. That was a week away. At the moment of my brother’s death, my mom dropped some dishes which made a big crash and made her shake, not understanding then what had happened. I won’t forget….. should have known. Depending on what you believe, I think it was the invisible cord that connects mother and child, severed by physical death.
    Bonnie is the sister of our brother PFC Robert “Arnie” Dwain Arnold!
Leave a Reply

